Winery KROISS

Winery KROISS

The wine-growing community of Illmitz is located on the eastern shore of Lake Neusiedl in sunny Burgenland in Austria, marked by countless lakes and endless plains. This area, which is called "Seewinkel", is very much influenced by the Pannonian climate. It is characterized by very hot and dry summer days and cold winters.

The winegrowing business has been family-run since 1926 and is now in the 4th family with Norbert Kroiss. Generation. His father Michael Kroiss is always at his side with advice and action and is an indispensable part of the company.
In 1926, the great-grandfather started a small wine production and since then the business has grown steadily. Around 35h of vineyard areas are currently being cultivated. The vineyard areas are planted with approx. 40% white wine and approx. 60% red wine stocks. 

With the most gentle processing and selection of the best grapes, we try to produce fruity white wines and full-bodied red wines at the highest level.

We pay great attention to typical Austrian grape varieties such as Zweigelt, Blaufränkisch, Grüner Veltliner or Welschriesling. International varieties such as Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir or Chardonnay are also ideal for this area.

Weingut KROISS

Weingut KROISS

Die Weinbaugemeinde Illmitz liegt am östlichen Ufer des Neusiedlersees im sonnigen Burgenland in Österreich, gezeichnet durch unzählige Lacken und endlose Ebenen. Dieses Gebiet, das sich „Seewinkel“ nennt, wird durch das pannonische Klima sehr geprägt. Es zeichnet sich durch sehr heiße und trockene Sommertage sowie kalte Winter aus.

Der Weinbaubetrieb wird seit 1926 familiär geführt und steht nun mit Norbert Kroiss in der bereits  4. Generation. Mit Rat und Tat steht ihm sein Vater Michael Kroiss stets zur Seite und ist eine nicht wegzudenkende Kraft im Betrieb.
1926 begann der Urgroßvater mit einer kleinen Weinproduktion und seither wuchs der Betrieb ständig. Es werden aktuell rund 35h Weingartenflächen bewirtschaftet. Die Weingartenflächen sind mit ca. 40% Weißwein- und mit ca. 60% Rotweinstöcken bepflanzt. 

Durch schonendste Verarbeitung und Selektion bester Trauben versuchen wir, fruchtige Weißweine und gehaltvolle Rotweine auf höchstem Niveau zu produzieren.

Ein großes Augenmerk legen wir auf typisch österreichische Rebsorten wie den Zweigelt, den Blaufränkisch, den Grünen Veltliner oder den Welschriesling. Auch internationale Sorten wie Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir oder Chardonnay eignen sich hervorragend für dieses Gebiet.